top of page
Sea Suite

Sea Suite

Sea Suite is a collection of pieces for beginner strings based on a nautical theme. There are three contrasting movements. The first movement, “Setting Sail” is in D major and has a catchy opening theme which is repeated with different instrumentation. “Waves” is the slower second movement in D minor. The violas and cellos provide a drone in 5ths at the beginning over which the 1st violins play a haunting melody. The last movement is a “Sailor’s Hornpipe” in E minor. It’s a fun movement and is an energetic end to the little suite.


Grade 1.5

Duration: 3’56”

Key: D Major; D minor and E Minor

Instrumentation: Vln 1, Vln2, Vln 3, Vla, Cello, Bass, Piano



    bottom of page